so i went to an elementary school today

 It was Election Day.  I have a hard time not commenting.

Although there wasn’t much worth national news on the ballot here in Texas, I did cast my vote.  The only person under 50 in the entire polling station was me, but that shouldn’t really be much of a suprise.  Twenty-somethings only pretend to care right?  We’ll talk about it if it’s newsworthy enough to be a twitter trending topic.  No, I don’t think I’m better than you for having voted today.  After all, my mother was the responsible citizen in the story.  Around lunch I got a call from her asking if I’d voted yet and if I wanted to meet her there.

“But…but…I don’t want to vote on something if I’m uninformed!” 

Reading, you learned how…obviously.  At the polling station there’s a description of the propositions, it’s not that difficult to figure out if it’s something against or in line with your basic beliefs. 

Oh ok.

I learned a lesson today when I saw my Dad’s wallet.  Every time he votes, his “I voted” sticker goes on the inside of his wallet to serve as a constant reminder.  There were a lot and that wallet isn’t old enough to have that many stickers from just presidential and gubernatorial races. 

Now I don’t plan on putting the stickers on my wallet to rack up “voting cred”, but I want to vote like he does.

Leave a comment

Filed under i will regret this tomorrow, i'm the only one entertained by this, people are going to hate me now, soapbox time

Leave a Reply

