red is my favorite color…

Literally and it’s an Okkervil River song

ANYWAYS.

Valentine’s Day happens to be my parents wedding anniversary and the birthday of one of my best friends and I’ve never really been one to make a big deal about it.

Actually that’s a lie.  In elementary school everyone had to make a mailbox for receiving valentines and I’d make a fuss over having the best one.  I was that kid.  I had to be better than you and You and YOU.  My competitive nature peaked at about 10 years old and has somehow declined ever since.

From college up until now, there have only been two instances when I was dating someone on Valentine’s Day.  During both, I insisted on not doing sappy stuff.  The guys were probably both skeptical,  thinking I was just saying that and terrified they’d end up in trouble for listening to me.  Lucky for them, I meant it.  Sophomore year we had pizza delivered and watched a horror movie off his crappy laptop.  Then last year, we (different guy) went out to eat and then to a “singles awareness day” party even though we weren’t quite as alone as the rest of the guests.  It was a little awkward and as you can guess, super romantic.  I’m all for cheesy things, but Valentine’s Day is sappy mixed with cheesy and kind of forced.  I guess I could be open to it, but I’m not going to demand it.

If I wanted to hold responsible someone for my lack of caring about the day I could probably point a finger at my parents, but I hardly think it’s worth blaming anyone.  As I mentioned earlier, February 14th is my parent’s wedding anniversary.  Never, since I can remember, have they made a big deal about celebrating it.  So there you have it, my indifference to the day is learned behavior from my mother and father.  It’s not that I hate it, it’s just that I like Halloween and Christmas better.  I guess.

This year, I’m not exactly dating anyone, so I made dinner for my parents wedding anniversary.  Since Valentine’s fell on a Sunday, they didn’t want to go out to eat and, like I said, they’ve never made a big deal about the day anyways.  I’m not going to bore you with the menu, but I was kind of pleased with how the stuffed tomatoes turned out.

Anniversaries and Valentine’s Day are pretty much celebrated the same way.  There are a few differences, but mostly similar.  To me, Valentine’s Day is like how in elementary school, they’d pick a day to celebrate all the summer birthdays on one day.  They were trying to make us not feel left out, but it was not my real birthday, it was not my friend’s real birthday and it was lame.  Valentine’s Day is like a fake anniversary.  Unless you’re my parents.

Rock on Jim and Suzanne.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

